珊瑚礁修复研究项目

一项创新的科学珊瑚礁修复研究项目,于阿金考特三号礁上的银梭号平台开展。

这个重要的项目由银梭集团 (Quicksilver) 和 礁石生态学团队 (Reef Ecologic) 的研究人员联合进行,致力于帮助保护大堡礁世界遗产地区的生态环境,社会用途和经济价值。

促成珊瑚礁修复项目的原因

由于几年前一连串自然界事件的综合影响,包括强风吹袭及其引起的巨浪,部份在我们位于外堡礁的平台附近的礁石遭到破坏。最后,在该部份的地区形成了一些珊瑚瓦砾,让海洋基底物质不稳定,阻碍新珊瑚的自然恢复。

有鉴于此,银梭集团与大堡礁海洋公园管理局协商后,我们获得了特许,在该地点进行珊瑚恢复研究项目。而这是有史以来,第一次,在大堡礁采取此类型的珊瑚礁修复策略。

珊瑚礁修复项目的内容

最初的主要内容是在水下安装人工网状结构,利用电流作用以种植相连的珊瑚。

修复团队将三块 1.5 米(5 英尺)x 3 米(10 英尺)的钢网面板放在珊瑚瓦砾上。这样可以稳定瓦砾,因此可以让新生的珊瑚依附到网格上培植 “新的殖民地 ”。

而这些网格将连接到能够提供 5 伏特的电流(从平台上取电)。从而帮助珊瑚以正常高三倍的速率,高效地分泌与沉积"碳酸钙"(为珊瑚骨骼的主要化学物质),为珊瑚提供這部份的基本生長條件。

在项目评估方面,我们将三个同样大小的 “对照” 网状面板和类似的珊瑚群落同时放置在海中,但其他的网板将不会连接上电源。使我们能够比较有电源的网板和没有电源的网板,统计它们在珊瑚生长速度上的影响,最后评估该项目是否成功。

当您在该区域附近浮潜时,您可能有机会会看到研究项目的地点,看上奇怪的人工网状物及线路,请放心,整个系统是安全的,对任何海洋生物或浮潜人仕都没有威胁。

首次测式珊瑚礁修复项目

首批纲网于2018年7月中旬,在研究站中花了三天时间安装,然后研究人员将在整个试验阶段定期测量珊瑚数量,以比较生长速率。

珊瑚礁修复项目的预测效益

研究团队希望这项于大堡礁上史无前列的修复技术上,帮助重建同类型被影响的地区,希望珊瑚在未来的自然干扰事件上具有更大的复原能力。

计划成功后,这项技术将有助于改善在大堡礁和世界各地其他珊瑚礁系统的恢复力。

珊瑚礁修复项目的参与者

本研究项目是由银梭集团 (Quicksilver) 中的海洋生物学家人员,礁石生态学团队 (Reef Ecologic) 与澳大利亚政府的国家环境科学计划合作建立的,并得到了海洋公园营运商联合组织 AMPTO 的资助。

如果您想了解更多有关此项创新科研的资料,欢迎与我们在银梭号游船上专业的海洋生物学家聊天。也可以通过以下方式联系礁石生态学团队 (Reef Ecologic) www.reefecologic.org

Reef Restoration Research Project

An innovative, scientific Reef Restoration Research Project is underway at Quicksilver’s platform, right in front of you, here on Agincourt Reef 3.

This important project, conducted by Quicksilver and researchers from Reef Ecologic, is aimed at helping to preserve the significant ecological, social and economic values of the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area.

 

What led to this Reef Restoration Project?

Due to a combination of natural events, including cyclonic wind and waves several years ago, a patch of reef close to the pontoon was damaged. As a result, an area of coral rubble formed and with an unstable substrate, the natural recovery of new corals was impeded.

After consultation with the natural area managers, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, we were issued with the permit to conduct a rehabilitation research project at this site. It’s the first time this type of reef restoration strategy has ever been undertaken on the Great Barrier Reef.

The Reef Restoration

What does the Project involve?

Quite simply, the Project involves the installation of a mesh structure underwater to grow coral connected to a power source.

To do this, three steel mesh panels of 1.5 metres (5ft) x 3 metres (10ft) have been placed over the coral rubble. This stabilises the rubble so small coral “recruit colonies” can be attached onto the mesh.

The mesh is attached to a power source and 5 volts of electric current is delivered to the mesh from batteries on the pontoon. This has the effect of assisting the corals to deposit calcium carbonate (coral skeleton) at a rate up to three times greater than normal.

So we can evaluate the success of the Project, three identical sized “control” mesh panels with similar coral colonies attached have also been placed underwater, but these mesh panels are not connected to a power source. This enables us to compare the growth rates of corals on the mesh with the power source, to those without.

When snorkelling near this area, you may see the research site. It is safe and poses no threat to any marine life.

The Reef Restoration

When did the trial start?

The mesh was installed in the research site over a period of three days in mid July 2018. The coral colonies will be measured regularly throughout the trial period to compare growth rates.

The Reef Restoration

What do we hope to gain?

It is hoped that this rehabilitation technique, which has never been attempted on the Great Barrier Reef before, will assist in making areas such as this research site, more resilient to stress in future natural disturbances.

If successful, this technology could help support reef resilience in many locations across the Great Barrier Reef and other reef systems in the world.

Who is conducting the Project?

This research project is a partnership with Quicksilver’s Reef Biosearch team of marine biologists, Reef Ecologic and the Australian Government’s National Environmental Science Program with funding support from AMPTO.

If you would like to learn more about this innovative project, speak with our friendly marine biologists onboard. Reef Ecologic can also be contacted at www.reefecologic.org

The Reef Restoration